Skip to main navigation.

2011 Harmon Electric Youth Tour Winners Announced



On March 22nd, Harmon Electric held the finals for the 2011 Youth Tour competition. Rebecca Dill of Mangum and Ryan Whitehead of Granite were chosen to receive an all expense paid trip to Washington, D. C. June 9-16, 2011.

The trip begins when they join approximately sixty other winners from across Oklahoma for a “Get Acquainted Banquet” in Oklahoma City. The delegates will board a jet the following morning and fly directly to Washington, D.C.

Six thrill packed days in the nation’s Capitol will include a tour of the capitol, a riverboat trip on the Potomac, tour of Mount Vernon, breakfast with Oklahoma’s Congressional delegation and many other points of interest.

The Youth Tour competition is available to all students in Harmon Electric’s service territory who are completing their junior year in high school. The contest consisted of an essay written on a topic chosen by the co-op. This year the topic was “How is Harmon Electric Different from other Electric Utilities?”

From the essays entered, a panel of judges chose seven finalists. These seven students were invited to give an oral presentation of five minutes or less over their essay and then answered interview questions from the judges. From these finalists, two winners were chosen for the Washington, D. C. trip.

Liana Mingura of Hollis and Ericka Garcia of Olustee were also awarded an all expense paid trip to the Cooperative Youth Leadership Camp in Steamboat Springs, CO July 8-16, 2011.

For nearly three decades the electric cooperatives of Colorado, Kansas, Wyoming and Oklahoma have conducted an outstanding educational seminar known as the Cooperative Youth Leadership Camp.

Every July, nearly 100 high school students travel to Clark, Colorado (north of Steamboat Springs) after being selected by their local cooperatives as participants. The seminar strives to help develop leadership skills that will assist students with the challenges they will face in the future.

Kayla Cotton, Amanda Parisher and Jessica Spann, all of Olustee, were each awarded a $300 scholarship.

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo
Safeelectricity - Promoting safe use of electricity Co-op Connections Card - Show It and Save Cooperative Action Network - Learn About America's Electric Cooperatives